Soccer remains Engen's premier sponsorship programme. A three-tiered sponsorship philosophy is followed. This includes a combination of media platforms to raise awareness, branded events and development programmes.

PSL Team sponsorship - Supersport United

Engen and three-time PSL champions Supersport United joined forces in 2013 July. The initial three-year deal marks the coming together of two great brands; brands which grown and evolved overtime to capture the imagination of South African public.

Supersport United are a symbol of innovation and excellence in South African sport. They have won three Premier Soccer League crowns, a Nedbank Cup title and contested numerous other finals over the past six years, marking them as arguably the most successful club in South Africa over the past decade.

While the partnership sees the coming together of two performance-driven brands, we sincerely believe it is based on something deeper. In ‘Matsatsantsa’ Engen recognises an organisation that shares similar values. These include teamwork, integrity and the pursuit of excellence, amongst many others. In addition, we also share cultures that are firmly rooted in the continual search for improvement and aspirations that extend beyond the borders of South Africa and across this beautiful continent.

Engen Knock Out Challenge

The Engen Knock Out Challenge has grown into arguably South Africa’s most prestigious under-18 soccer event over the past 15 years. In that time the tournament has entrenched its position as a premier platform for spotting promising football talent.

Created specifically to promote competitive conditions for under-18’s, the Engen Knock Out Challenge affords young football players a chance to perform to their best potential in the hope of being scouted by a top professional team. We are proud that the Engen Knockout Challenge has influenced the lives of over 30 000 participants since 2003.

The Engen Knock Out Challenge pits 16 teams in five regions across South Africa against each other. Participation is either by invitation and/or through qualifying rounds. This sees 48 matches staged over three days at each of the five events.

The five regions which host the event are: Cape Town, Durban, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth and Johannesburg.

Some of the names who have come through the programme are:

  • Siyanda Xulu (FC Rostov)
  • Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam)
  • Ayanda Patosi (Sporting Lokeren)
  • Daylon Claassen (Lech Poznań)
  • Ronwen Williams (Supersport United)
  • George Maluleka (Supersport United)
  • Sameegh Doutie (Supersport United)
  • Bongani Zungu (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Lyle Lakay (Bloemfontein Celtic)
  • Keegan Buchanan (Bloemfontein Celtic)